Origin and meaning of "seafood price" in Cantonese slang. thesmoodiaries.com

Canto Slang: Seafood Price

CANTO SLANG:  EPISODE 24

This is a slang that I wished I learned 4 years when I first arrived in Hong Kong so I could describe my haggling experience, or rather, my experience being hustled, to all the others around me!

SEAFOOD PRICE

WTF is that?  It’s basically the equivalent to what a “whitie price” would be… The origin I find more to be more amusing than the actually meaning…


Origin and meaning of "seafood price" in Cantonese slang. thesmoodiaries.com

SEAFOOD PRICE ORIGINS:

If you open a Chinese restaurant menu, you will see that there are no set prices for the fresh seafood section – you have to inquire because all the seafood is at market price.  This market price varies due to availability and season, which lead to price fluctuations. Consequently, if you’ve been provided the seafood price (when you’re not buying seafood), it means that the shop owner or seller has looked you up and down, and has determined the price they want to quote to you.  Being given a seafood price also implies that you’ve been given a price that is higher than the normal price that you would normally pay if you’re a local…

I always get the seafood price in Hong Kong unfortunately, regardless if I’m buying seafood or not… Sigh.  ‘Tis is life in Hong Kong.


Share this if you liked it!  Also have you checked out the previous Canto Slang Lesson #23, Snake King?

Leave a comment